Fairyloot Unboxing December 2016 • Sci-Fi Adventure

As you probably know, I’m a big fan of Fairy Loot, and even though I’ve only received two boxes total, I would still heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a quality bookscription box. Unfortunately, I don’t have the spare funds to buy it every month, but hopefully in the next couple of months I’ll be able to subscribe again. For now, however, I’ll be pining from afar.

fairy loot december

I received December’s box a couple of weeks ago but didn’t take the time to put up any information on it (my bad!), which is a shame as I filmed a video on November’s Royals And Rogues box, which you can find on my YouTube channel.

This month’s theme was Sci-Fi Adventure and I really enjoyed the contents! I’m not hugely keen on receiving Pop Funkos in boxes because a lot of the bigger boxes all have that and they just seem very similar to me; there’s so little that’s unique about them anymore and quality takes a nose dive. I don’t want that to happen to Fairy Loot, but I think it was a one-time thing for Christmas and the release of Rogue One.

fairy loot december

I got a Stormtrooper (although I would’ve LOVED C-3P0) and I’ll count my lucky stars I didn’t get Rey (as I accidentally have two of her!) He now sits proudly on top of my vanity table, guarding my makeup from any rebels looking to steal setting powder.

I also received Kryptonite bath powder from Geeky Clean. I actually got the October horror box from GC and loved it. It’s cruelty free (and vegan!) and the company has a huge range of sweet smelling wonders. Apparently the kryptonite smells like cupcakes but unfortunately it can’t weaken Superman. You’ll have to get REAL kryptonite for that!

I also got a pair of galaxy socks which are very cute, although I think they’re made of polyester which isn’t the most feet-friendly material. However, they’re nice to look at and lounge around in on a cold day! They’re exclusive to Fairy Loot as well, which is nice.

The Starbound trilogy makes an appearance in this box (which unfortunately I haven’t had a chance to read yet!) in the form of an exclusive watercolour bookmark by Lexy Olivia. Also included are art prints and buttons which were designed exclusively for the box by Taratjah. One of the prints features the boys from the Lunar Chronicles and the buttons feature Darrow and Sevro from the Red Rising trilogy.

fairy loot december

Bonus items include a sampler for Way Down Dark (which, to be honest, I’m not remotely interested in) a Red Rising art print and The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet art print as well. The people who put the box together also included a Christmas postcard, which was a cute touch. It’s nice to see the faces behind the business.

Finally, the book is a blend of sci-fi and rebellion. Flashfall by Jenny Moyer is the first in a new series that apparently features strong characters and is set in a unique world. Let’s hope that promise is fulfilled! It came with a signed bookplate, letter and bookmark from the author, of course.

I’m excited to get stuck in and hopefully add Flashfall to my new #30kbookchallenge for 2017. Here’s hoping it’s a good one! I’ll be sure to post a review whenever I’m finished.

I hope everyone had a wonderful new year!

Leave a Reply

